Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 Will Launch With 12 Multiplayer Maps


Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 is coming out next week and Treyarch has announced a new map, now placing the total number of multiplayer maps to 12.

That makes 8 original maps for Black Ops 4:

  • Arsenal

  • Contraband

  • Frequency

  • Gridlock

  • Hacienda

  • Payload

  • Seaside

  • Morocco

And 4 old maps remastered:

  • Jungle (Black Ops 1)

  • Firing Range (Black Ops 1)

  • Summit (Black Ops 1)

  • Slums (Black Ops 2)

Treyarch made the Morocco map reveal on Twitter. The descriptions says “rebels in a small Moroccan village are using government military supply planes as target practice as they fly over the surrounding Sahara Desert.”

It’s a short video teasing the new map. But it’s good to know that there’s going to be a good number of maps in rotation for the base game.

For comparison, Call of Duty: WWII shipped with only 9 multiplayer maps. This amount of maps with the base game resulted in maps going stale rather quickly than expected, which is a shame since Call of Duty:  WWII is a return to form for the series after a series of mediocre titles before it.

With an announcement like this in just a few weeks away, you never know - we might get another map announcement. Which is good because more maps in the base game the better for those not too keen at shelling out more money for post content.

The 12 multiplayer maps will be accompanied by 3 zombie campaigns and Call of Duty’s take on the battle royale formula with the game mode called Blackout.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 will be available worldwide on October 12 for PS4, Xbox One, and PC.